Home » Scandinavia » Vigelund Sculpture Park, Oslo

Vigelund Sculpture Park, Oslo

I’ve been to Oslo a few times and I do really like the place. One thing I’ve always wanted to see was the sculptures in the Vigelund Sculpture Park, although at the time I didn’t realise they were there. I’d just seen pictures and decided I wanted to see it.

DSC00285

So having arrived at the Hotel Bristol I dashed over to this park to see the sculptures before it went dark. I now know I wasn’t quick enough as lots of my pics are too dark, but I got enough to keep me happy.

DSC00301

You approach across a bridge decorated with figures of all ages and in all sorts of poses. But they’re all naked and look “comfortable”, no rippling muscles. The poses are very telling, they give a story about a relationship straight away.

DSC00304

There’s all sorts of folk, men, women, grannies, grandads, boys, girls, in all sorts of arrangements. They all say something about relationships and only one made me wonder what it was supposed to show.  (It isn’t shown here).

DSC00310

I could have walked round looking at the different pieces for ages. You see the story as soon as you look at the figures. Some seem sad, but most seem to be a celebration of being human.

DSC00312

It was hard to pick a favourite. I liked the funny little boys on the bridge, and there was one of a boy and his grandad that was very touching. The ones of couples were also very moving.

DSC00313

I think possibly this was one of my favourites. The moon was shining and I managed to get a few snaps with it in. I think I’d really like to bring Sandra and the boys to see this.

DSC00306

 

Leave a Reply

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
